top of page

Marriage and the Moon

Updated: Dec 30, 2022

A great deal of planning goes into a wedding these days. We want the right venue, dress, flowers, rings - the list goes on. However, not many people give a great deal of thought into the timing of their wedding. A chart can be calculated for the big day and can reveal the themes for the marriage.

The Moon plays a big part in a wedding chart, as it describes the type of union you can expect after you've said those vows. The signs of the Moon and the element they represent, both play a part.

The Fire Moons consist of Aries, Leo and Sagittarius. If you marry under a Fire Moon it is said that those in the marriage will be passionate and at times, impulsive. An Aries Moon indicates spontaneity and enthusiasm. A Leo Moon indicates romance and fun. A Sagittarius Moon indicates freedom and growth.

The Earth Moons consist of Taurus, Virgo and Capricorn. If you marry under an Earth Moon, it is said that those in the marriage will desire permanence and security. A Taurus Moon indicates endurance and perseverance. A Virgo Moon indicates hard work but also criticism. A Capricorn Moon indicates ambition and stability.

The Air Moons consist of Gemini, Libra and Aquarius. If you marry under an Air Moon, it is said that the marriage will be light and communicative. A Gemini Moon indicates light-heartedness but also inconsistency. A Libra Moon indicates relatability and connection. An Aquarius Moon indicates friendship and independence.

The Water Moons consist of Cancer, Scorpio and Pisces. If you marry under a Water Moon, it is said that the marriage will be nurturing and emotional. A Cancer Moon indicates caring and tenacity. A Scorpio Moon indicates control and transformation. A Pisces Moon indicates empathy and the need to merge.

The quadruplicates will also play a role in the ability for the marriage to last the test of time. To be married under a Cardinal Moon (Aries, Cancer, Libra and Capricorn) brings the energy to take steps to move forward if things aren't working or to try something new in an attempt to improve things. A Fixed Moon (Taurus, Leo, Scorpio and Aquarius) brings the energy to hold on. It is harder to extract yourself from a marriage that occurred under a Fixed Moon, as the energy doesn't want to let go. Change is very challenging here. A Mutable Moon (Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius and Pisces) brings the energy to go with the flow. Variety is the spice of life for marriages under a Mutable Moon.

Of course, there is a lot more to look at in a marriage chart than just the Moon. However, by looking at the Moon in a marriage chart, it's a good start and gives you some quick, easy and practical information.

30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page